Toggle Menu


LEAD Institute Fellow Award

SCCAP acknowledges that the success of the society and the field of psychology is dependent upon the diversity of individuals stepping up to fill leadership roles.  In order to promote leadership development and potential future leaders within SCCAP, its Diversity Committee created the bi-annual Leadership Education to Advance Diversity (LEAD) Institute.

The goal of the SCCAP Leadership Education to Advance Diversity (LEAD) Institute is to provide professional development, networking, and leadership skills for graduate students and early career professionals (ECP’s). Graduate students and ECP’s who are members of Division 53 (SCCAP) are eligible to apply. The full-day leadership institute offers LEAD participants (also known as LEAD fellows) to attend sessions with invited guest speakers that address topics such as: leadership in the community and profession, cultural sensitivity in practice, tips on publishing, and learning skills in media psychology.

LEAD is intended to provide graduate students and ECP’s from diverse groups (e.g., ethnic and racial, sexual and gender diversity, individuals with a disability) the opportunity to gain leadership and professional skills, and increase their professional network. LEAD fellows also have the opportunity to be on a special email distribution list that announces educational, leadership, and award opportunities.  Participation in LEAD also allows for eligible participants to earn Continuing Education Credits.  LEAD will also produce periodic virtual learning opportunities at no cost to participants.

If the LEAD Institute is held virtually due to public health concerns and travel is not required, upon completion of the program LEAD Fellows will be given $300 to put toward participation in other SCCAP sponsored conferences or educational opportunities.

Eligibility Criteria for LEAD Fellows:

  • This institute is open to graduate students from APA, PCSAS, or CPA-accredited programs, or from schools that have officially entered into the accreditation process, OR ECP’s (members within 10-years of earning their doctoral degree).
  • Applicants must be a member of SCCAP. SCCAP is free to join for students and post-docs (
  • Fellows that are selected will also be required to demonstrate their involvement in leadership activities within 1-year after this program (e.g., serving as a member of a SCCAP committee).
  • Accepted Applicants must be domiciled in the United States of America to receive the monetary award. Non-US-domiciled members may still participate in the educational portion of the Institute.


The next LEAD will be held in 2025.  The application period will be announced over the listserv in late 2024

Applications for 2025 LEAD will be accepted TBA.  

Notifications will be sent by TBA

If you have questions about eligibility criteria or other parts of the application process, please contact

*Applications will be evaluated based on the applicant’s CV and their description of the benefits of being selected as a LEAD fellow.

Erlanger Turner, PhD

LEAD Institute, Chair

SCCAP encourages and welcomes applicants with diverse backgrounds with respect to age, disability, gender, geography, nationality, race, religion, ethnicity, and sexual orientation.

The content is locked to SCCAP Members Only

Login To Unlock and Access Content.


Congratulations to the 2023 LEAD Institute Fellows

Amanda Acevedo Northern Arizona University 
Veronica Acosta, Ph.D. Hawai’i Pacific University
Jasmine Aguirre University of Tennessee Knoxville
Selena Baca University of Kansas
China Bolden Seattle Pacific University
Jasmin Brooks University of Houston
Vanessa Calderon, Ph.D. University of Southern California
Randi Cheatham-Johnson, Ph.D UT Southwestern Children’s Medical Center
Brianna Downey Fielding Graduate University 
Artesia Dunbar Wright State University- School of Professional Psychology
Loretta Eboigbe University of Maryland- College Park
Ãlvaro Gamio Cuervo University of Massachusetts Boston
Josh Golt University of Alabama
Christopher Gomez University of Kansas
Erika Gustafson, Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
Melissa Hall University of Notre Dame
Donica Harper Fielding Graduate University 
Brittany Hinkle Howard University
Irene Jacobs Virginia Commonwealth University
Nicole Keller  Hawaii Pacific University 
Amani Khalil Purdue University 
Maria Jose Lewis, Ph.D. Santa Barbara Neighborhood Clinics and California Counseling Clinics
Metzli Lombera Pennsylvania State University
Nicole Lorenzo,PhD. American University
Ceewin Louder University of Miami
Esmeralda Navarro University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Tanya  Nichols, Ph.D. Mt. Washington Pediatric Hospital 
Caterina Obenauf University of Tennessee
Suh Jung (Rylee) Park University of Missouri-Columbia
Dominique Phillips University of Miami, Coral Gables
Nyla Rogers Howard University
Anna Maria Ros, Ph.D. Lurie Children’s Hospital / Northwestern Feinberg Med School
Katherine Sanchez, Ph.D. Arizona State University 
Elena Schiavone Florida International University 
Suzanna So, Ph.D. California State University Long Beach
Marie Tanaka University of Arizona
Sheree  Tarver Sylva-Senette, Psy.D. Dallas County Juvenile Department
Rachel  Thompson Regent University 
Briana Williams Michigan State University
Stephanie Wilson Virginia Commonwealth University
Blanche Wright, Ph.D. UCLA Department of Health Policy and Management
Yexinyu -Yolanda Yang University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Stephanie Yu University of California, Los Angeles
Arie Zakaryan, Ph.D.  Phoenix Children’s Hospital